U12 north final 2013

U12 North Final Burgess v Shannon Rovers Saturday 10th August 2013

Burgess 4-06 Shannon Rovers 0-01

All roads lead to Borrisoleigh for the North U12 hurling final. Burgess were going for the double having already won the football in May. These sides met in July with a draw the result after a tough encounter.
A point from Cathal Conneally followed a goal from Tom Gibson after 5 minutes settled Burgess. Burgess high work rate and teamwork lead to 3 further points from Jack’ O Keeffe and a goal just before half time leaving the score Burgess 2-04 Shannon Rovers no score.
Both sides brought on their subs at half time, Burgess continued with their high work rate and teamwork which kept them on the forward foot. This led to two great points from Sean Dunne. Rovers pressed forward and dropped numerous balls into the Burgess square but as ever the defence were rock solid. Rovers scored a good point from a free 15 minutes into the second half. In the last 5 minutes of the game Kiefer O’Brien and Daire Hogan both scored a goal. When the referees Seamus Tynan blew the final whistle Burgess had completed the double in North Tipp.

This performance was down to great teamwork and work rate for the whole 40 minutes by Burgess. Things didn’t just go the Rovers way today and no doubt they will rebound from this and it will stand to them in the future but today was Burgess day and all credit is due to the 14 players whom all performed to a very high level. Thanks also to the Burgess supporters who turned out in great numbers and encouraged the team throughout the game. We would like to thank Shannon Rovers from their great sportsmanship throughout the day. Also a big thanks to Borrisoleigh for providing great facilities on the day. Lastly we would also like to thank the Juvenile North Board and the Referee for a great day.

Burgess team:
1 Oisin Hynes 2 Killian Hogan 3 Emily Morrissey 4 Jack O’Keeffe 5 Tom O Neill 6 Caoilfhionn Maher 7 Cathal Conneally 8 Sean Dunne 9 Aaron Sharkey 10 Tom Gibson 11 Cormac McAuliffe 12 Daire Hogan 13 Joe Cooney 14 Keifer O’Brien


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: