Burgess Juniors survive late Moneygall rally

Burgess v Moneygall 18th April in Moneygall Junior A Hurling League

After an even opening twenty minutes of hurling Burgess lead Moneygall by only a point with the score 0-5 to 0-4. The Burgess scores to this point coming from Tadgh O’Halloran bagging an impressive 0-3 with a point each for Tony Gleeson and Keith Nealon.

Burgess went on to dominate the remainder of the half with more scores coming from Nealon, Garrett Howard, Paidi Gill and Johnny Ryan.  The late concession of a goal a minute into injury time left the half time score Burgess 0-11 Moneygall 1-6.

The opening twenty minutes of the second half saw a dominant Burgess race into a 0-18 to 1-08 lead with Keith Nealon doing most of the damage from placed balls and Paidi Gill firing over a fine point from play.

With thirty minutes of the second half elapsed Burgess looked home and hosed leading by six points 0-20 to 1-11 when Moneygall to their credit launched a remarkable injury time comeback with two lightening goals to square up the game 0-20 to 3-11. Burgess however, had a trump card to play in the shape of the evergreen Colm O’Brien who was quickest to react and snatched the winning goal in the 34th minute of the second half to give Burgess their second away win of the league.

Team and scorers: Brian Sherlock, John O’Dwyer, Pat Woods, Willie Ryan, Brian Tucker, Kieran Ryan, Tony Hogan, Johnny Ryan (0-1), Bill O’Flaherty, Garrett Howard (0-1), Declan O’Donohue, Tadgh O’Halloran (0-3), Keith Nealon(0-12 6f 1 ’65), Tony Gleeson (0-1), Paidi Gill (0-2).  Subs Used: Conor Gill, Colm O’Brien (1-0), Mike Seymour, Conor Quigley, James Coady

As it Happened:

JAHL 2014 V Moneygall