Burgess GAA Notes 22nd December 2014

St Stephen’s Day Fundraiser Match:

Ann McGrath is Organizing a mixed Camogie and Hurling match in Kilcoleman on St Stephen’s Day at 12 . These games have always been great fun when we’ve had them in the past and all proceeds will go towards the Cardiac Unit in the Childrens Hospital Crumlin. The juvenile club will be playing a part too! We look forward to seeing you all there.


Seasons Greeting:

The Burgess GAA club would like to wish all of its Players, members and supporters at home and throughout the world a very happy Christmas and new year.

Club Lotto:

There was no winner of Monday 15th lotto draw the numbers drawn on the night were 1, 12, 15 & 30. The lucky dip winners on the night were Isobel Lucas c/o Ryan Stoves, Claire Gleeson Carrigatogher and Emma Kearns Plunkett Street. This weeks Christmas Lotto draw will take place in Barry’s Newtown for a Jackpot of €3,150. The Christmas draw is always a great night and we look forward to seeing you there.

Burgess GAA notes 8th December 2014

Juvenile Presentation Night:

The Burgess Juvenile club held their presentation night on Friday 5th December. A large crowd attended.  A great night was had by all. We had a disco and finger food was served. The following won prizes on our draw. Mike Slattery, Barbaha. Niall Harahan Carrigatoher, Dinny Darcy Ballywilliam, Mary Sherlock Carrigatoher, Tom Shanahan Toomevara, Una Powell Nenagh.

Thanks very much to everyone who bought tickets for the draw and to all who sponsored prizes.

Club Lotto:

There was no winner of last week’s Jackpot. The numbers Drawn were 1, 8, 10 & 26. This week’s draw was in Reidy’s, Newtown on Monday the 8th December. The Jackpot was at  €11,800 on the night. This week’s draw was held in Molly Bán’s, Nenagh on Monday the 8th December. We wish you all the best of luck & thank you for your continued support. The Christmas Lotto draw will be held in less than 2 weeks, see full details in main add. The Christmas draw is always a great night and we look forward to seeing you all there.

Club AGM:

The club held its AGM on Friday last. The election of officers for the coming year was held and the year gone by was comprehensively reviewed thanks to Maireád Darcy. The posts filled on the night were Dinny Ryan as Chairman, Mike Carroll and Peter Carroll were elected joint vice-Chairmen, Máiread Darcy as Secretary, Anne McGrath as Assistant Secretary, Rena Maher as Treasurer, Padraig Hogan as Community & Publicity Officer, Maria Murray as Registrar, Mortimer Hogan as County Board Delegate, Liam Gillespie as Development Officer, Michael Slattery as Youth Officer, Pat Stanley Alcohol and Drugs Awareness officer, Paddy Cooney as School Liaison Officer (Youghalarra) and Michelle Tucker as Child Protection Officer.

Two motions were debated and carried on the night. The first calling for relegation on each of the four divisions in the senior, intermediate and junior A grades with only promotion for the county final winners for the next three years. The second successful motion carried was that the club appoint a director of juvenile hurling and football in the Parish.

A motion to return the u12 competitions to their original A, B and C format in each division with divisional and county finals was defeated.

We would like to thank all who attended and wish our incoming officers all the best for the coming year.